Quentin GASSIAT

Quentin GASSIAT, Sedimentations

 

Quentin Gassiat wanders around European cities, looking for derelict walls. Paris, Rome, Odessa, Kiev, Bucarest… On these walls still proliferate commercial posters, where little shopkeepers, entertainment companies, big consumer brands will try to attract the passerby’s attention in order to sell her something and solicit her wallet.

 

But the passerby does not hesitate to tear off, to lacerate, to unglue. Following this anonymous and collective act, the initial message becomes inintelligible. Looting or diverting these avatars of mass communication : most of us have done this one day or another.

 

Then the passerby leaves room for the time that passes, the rigour of nature which wash out the surfaces, modify borderings, clear out colours. Pieces tear off, revealing other gestures, other seasons. From what was originally intended as a targeted clarity, an advertising message, we are left with a colourful patchwork.

 

Thus we have in front of our eyes some urban sedimentations.

 

Their constant : a human look, which despite its lost message, still calls us and looks inside us. Mirror of the artist’s eyes, who is strolling the urban streets like an entomologist, looking for those ephemeral posters, an artist who will give an homage to them by photographing without any alteration, as to engrave the formal beauty of those dereliction fragments.

 

Extract of the catalog published for Quentin Gassiat’s solo show in Milan, from 21 to 23 March 2019.

XENITHIA - NOMADE

Home     Artists     Exhibitions     Publications     Contact        FR I  EN

©2018 Xenithia-Nomade srls.  All image rights for the works shown on this website are the property of the artists .                                                                           Subscribe to our newsletter

Home     Artists     Exhibitions    Publications    Contact        FR I  EN

Quentin GASSIAT

Quentin GASSIAT, Sédimentations

 

Quentin Gassiat arpente les villes européennes et en scrute les murs en décrépitude. Paris, Rome, Odessa, Kiev, Bucarest… Sur ces murs abonde encore l’affichage commercial, où les petits boutiquiers, les guichets de spectacles, les grandes marques de consommation vont tenter d’attirer le regard du passant pour lui vendre quelque chose, le solliciter lui et son porte-monnaie.

 

Mais le passant n’hésite pas à déchirer, lacérer, décoller. Par cette acte anonyme et collectif, le message initial devient inintelligible. Saccager ou détourner ces excroissances de la communication de masse, nous l’avons sans doute tous fait un jour ou l’autre.

 

Ensuite le passant laisse la place au temps qui passe, à la rigueur des éléments qui délavent, modifient les contours, font déteindre les couleurs. Les lambeaux se détachent, révélant d’autres gestes, d’autres saisons. De ce qui avait originellement une clarté ciblée, celle d’un message publicitaire, il nous reste un patchwork de couleurs et de formes.

 

Ainsi nous avons sous nos yeux des sédimentations urbaines.

 

Leur constante : celle d’un regard humain qui malgré son message perdu, nous appelle encore et nous scrute. Miroir du regard de l’artiste qui arpente les rues tel un entomologiste, à la recherche de ces affiches éphémères et qui leur rendra hommage en les photographiant sans les altérer lui-même, pour pérenniser la beauté plastique de ces fragments de déréliction.

 

Texte extrait du catalogue de l’exposition personnelle de Quentin Gassiat organisée à Milan  du 21 au 23 mars 2019.

XENITHIA - NOMADE

Accueil     Artistes     Expositions     Publications     Contact         FR I  EN 

© 2018 Xenithia-Nomade srls. Toutes les images des oeuvres sur ce site sont la propriété intellectuelle des artistes.                                                               Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter

Accueil     Artistes     Expositions     Publications     Contact         FR I EN