Jean-Marc FELZENSZWALBE

A few words about Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe's pastels

 

Italian primitive paintings bear a golden background in the depicted scenes, designating the divinity that encompasses everything and presides over the human destiny as a sovereign judge. Over the centuries, this background has tended to back away, to shrink, to give place: birth and death, daily life gestures, relationships and human emotions have increasingly invested the space and its perspective. This culminated during the Renaissance, as prove the well-known works that still adorn our churches and museums.

 

Centuries later, Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe's pastels tell a story that unfolds at first sight in the opposite direction: that of an artist whose work, initially influenced by the Russian constructivism, has progressively freed itself from the faces, from the shapes, and from the perspective. Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe has gradually stripped his paintings and reduced the use of the line to its simplest expression: a limit, an edge, a separation.

 

Yet, the disappearance of the form does not really embody a return to the golden background of the Italian primitives. The colors in Felzenszwalbe's pastels offer challenging sensuality, intensity, and versatility. The encounter between the artistic gesture and a friable, fragile, subtle material creates impressions of a tessitura, of a moire, of an abyss. The pigments resonate according to the different lights of the day.

 

When I first saw these pastels, they reminded me of a very beautiful series by James Turrell, in 2015 at Houghton Hall in Norfolk. In his work, the American artist uses light and projects it onto surfaces to arouse an emotion, a sensation, a resonance in the viewer. Even in a monochrome work of art, the perception of light evolves, amplifies, contracts, has rhythm and volume. The technique and the effects may differ, but I found the same attempt in Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe's pastels, thus placing this artist at the forefront. (...)

 

From the foreword to the catalog of the Jean-Marc FELZENSZWALBE exhibition “Pastels and Collages of the 1990s”, held in Rome in April 2018.

 

 

About Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe

 

After having been awarded residencies in the Yaddo foundation (1991), the Wurlitzer foundation (1990) and the Albee foundation (1988), Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe has participated to solo and group exhibitions in Europe and in North America. He was born in Paris in 1959, where he is currently living and working.

 

Exhibitions:

 

  • May 2019: Reflections, Galerie Xenithia-Nomade, Milan (solo show),
  • April 2018 : Pastels and Collages, Galerie Xenithia-Nomade, Rome, (solo show)
  • March 2008 : Sols; photographs, Galerie Christophe Gaillard, Paris, (solo show)
  • November 2004 : Murs et trottoirs: photographs at the Local, Paris, (solo show)
  • February 1991 : Salon Jeune Peinture, Grand Palais, Paris (group show)
  • September - October 1990 : Lost Circus Gallery, Amarillo, Texas, United States (solo show)
  • June 1990 : Ariel Gallery, New-York, United States (group show)
  • October 1988 : Jeunes Artistes Européens, Musée de Roubaix (group show)
  • February - March 1988 : Kunstblock gallery, Munich, Germany (solo show)

 

Residencies and awards:

 

  • 1993: Villa Montalvo foundation, Saratoga, California, United States
  • 1991: Yaddo foundation, Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
  • 1990: Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, U.S.A Golden Nail Award (Amarillo, Texas, United States)
  • 1989: Helene Wurlitzer foundation of New Mexico, United States
  • 1988: Hilaï foundation, Israeli Center for Fine Arts, Israel
  • 1987: Edward Albee foundation (the Barn), Montauk, Long Island, United States
  • 1986: Laurent-Vibert foundation, Lourmarin, France

XENITHIA - NOMADE

Home     Artists     Exhibitions     Publications     Contact        FR I  EN

©2018 Xenithia-Nomade srls.  All image rights for the works shown on this website are the property of the artists .                                                                           Subscribe to our newsletter

Home     Artists     Exhibitions    Publications    Contact        FR I  EN

Jean-Marc FELZENSZWALBE

Sur les pastels de Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe

 

Dans la peinture des primitifs italiens, le fond doré qui se trouve en arrière-plan des scènes représentées désigne la divinité qui englobe tout et préside à la destinée humaine en tant que juge souverain. Mais au fur et à mesure des siècles, ce fond doré recule, s’amenuise, s’éloigne. Les voies de la naissance et de la mort, les gestes de la vie quotidienne, les relations et émotions humaines investissent de plus en plus cet espace et sa perspective. Ce mouvement culminera à la Renaissance dans les oeuvres bien connues qui ornent encore les églises et désormais les musées.

 

A des siècles de distance, les pastels de Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe racontent une histoire qui se déroule à première vue en sens inverse: celle d’un artiste dont l’oeuvre, initialement influencée par le constructivisme russe, s’est progressivement affranchie des figures, des formes et de la perspective. Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe a petit à petit dépouillé ses tableaux et réduit l’utilisation du trait à sa plus simple expression. Une limite, un bord, une séparation.

 

Pourtant la disparition de la forme n’est pas vraiment un retour au fond doré de ces primitifs italiens. Dans ces pastels, les couleurs nous interpellent par leur sensualité, leur intensité, leur versatilité. Impressions de tessiture, de moire, d’abîme créées par la rencontre du geste artistique et d’un matériau friable, fragile, subtil… Ces pigments résonnent avec les différentes lumières du jour.

 

En les voyant pour la première fois, je me suis remémoré une très belle série d’installations de l’artiste américain James Turrell. Cela avait eu lieu en 2015 à Houghton Hall dans le Norfolk. Dans son oeuvre Turrell utilise la lumière et la projette sur des surfaces pour susciter une émotion, une sensation, une résonance chez le spectateur. La perception de la lumière, même dans un monochrome, évolue, s’amplifie, se contracte, a du rythme et du volume. J’ai trouvé dans ces pastels la même tentative qui place par le jeu d’une technique différente et de ses effets Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe à l’avant-garde.(…)

 

Texte extrait de l’avant-propos au catalogue de l’exposition Jean-Marc FELZENSZWALBE, Pastels et Collages des années 1990, organisée à Rome en avril 2018.

 

À propos de Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe

 

Lauréat des fondations Yaddo (1991), Wurlitzer (1990) et Albee (1988), Jean-Marc Felzenszwalbe a participé à des expositions de groupe et personnelles en France et aux Etats- Unis. Il est né à Paris en 1959, ville dans laquelle il vit et travaille.

 

Expositions

 

  • Mai 2019 : Réflexions, Galerie Xenithia-Nomade, Milan, (exposition personnelle)
  • Avril 2018 : Pastels et Collages, Galerie Xenithia-Nomade, Rome, (exposition personnelle)
  • Mars 2008 : Sols; photographies. Galerie Christophe Gaillard, Paris, (exposition personnelle)
  • Novembre 2004 : Murs et trottoirs: photographies au Local, Paris, (exposition personnelle)
  • Février 1991 : Salon Jeune Peinture, Grand Palais, Paris (exposition de groupe)
  • Septembre - Octobre 1990 : Lost Circus Gallery, Amarillo, Texas, États-Unis (exposition personnelle)
  • Juin 1990 : Galerie Ariel, New-York, États-Unis (exposition de groupe)
  • Octobre 1988 : Jeunes Artistes Européens, Musée de Roubaix, (exposition de groupe)
  • Février - Mars 1988 : Galerie Kunstblock, Munich, Allemagne (exposition personnelle)

 

Prix et récompenses

 

  • 1993: lauréat de la fondation Villa Montalvo, Saratoga, Californie, États-Unis
  • 1991: lauréat de la fondation Yaddo, Saratoga Springs, New York, États-Unis
  • 1990: lauréat de la fondation Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, U.S.A Golden Nail Award (Amarillo, Texas, États-Unis)
  • 1989: lauréat de la Hélène Wurlitzer Foundation of New Mexico, États-Unis
  • 1988: lauréat de la fondation Hilaï, Centre Israélien des Beaux-Arts, Israël
  • 1987: lauréat de la Edward Albee Foundation (the Barn), Montauk, Long Island, États-Unis
  • 1986: lauréat de la fondation Laurent-Vibert, Lourmarin, France

XENITHIA - NOMADE

Accueil     Artistes     Expositions     Publications     Contact         FR I  EN 

© 2018 Xenithia-Nomade srls. Toutes les images des oeuvres sur ce site sont la propriété intellectuelle des artistes.                                                               Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter

Accueil     Artistes     Expositions     Publications     Contact         FR I EN